Counting Days

When I told you that I might not be able to see you again,
I cried a little
a little of too much that drowned this earth in sorrow
sorrow, unwanted by fools
for only fools do not know that
to love is to cry a little

I should love you less
like rain in droughts
patiently waiting
blissfully falling
for the chance to embrace
the dry fields once again
but to love you less is being selfish
for you deserve that much
you deserve the best

How many days more
how many days left
too tired of counting
but not of waiting
for I was told
and I believe
that what we have
transcends everything

Leave a Reply

